Secondary students accepted to Monash Scholars Program

High achieving students from four Catholic secondary schools across the Diocese of Sale have been invited to participate in the Monash Scholars Program.

Students in Years 10 from Lavalla Catholic College, Nagle College, St Peter’s College and St Francis Xavier College have joined the Monash Scholars Class of 2021-2023. The program will provide them with the opportunity to attend a range of events that will enhance their learning, help them explore career opportunities and create new networks.

The scholars accepted into the program include:

Lavalla Catholic College:

  • Georgia Said

  • Jasmine Young

  • Jaclyn Little

  • Miles Verschuur

Nagle College:

  • Brendan Terry

  • Brylee MacMahon

  • Jessica Bradley

St Peter’s College, Cranbourne:

  • Bonny Cortese

  • Guillermo Pino

  • Dilmi Ratnayake

St Peter’s College, Clyde North:

  • Natalie D’Souza

  • Lee Garcia

  • LeeAnne Mpatiwa

St Francis Xavier College:

  • Jeorge Carter

  • Brigita Pinto

  • Jayda Hudman

  • Mitchell Rook

Director of Catholic Education for the Diocese of Sale, Ms Maria Kirkwood, said she is pleased to see young people across the Diocese actively pursuing their goals.

“Our schools are committed to providing students with extra opportunities outside of the classroom, so they can strive to reach their full potential. Whether it is a pathway to university or vocational training, it is wonderful to see dedicated students pursuing educational excellence,” she said.

Scholars are expected to dedicate approximately 20 hours per year to the program, and if they successfully gain a position at Monash University when they graduate Year 12, they will continue to receive benefits. These include leadership and ambassador opportunities.