Catholic Education Awards Announced

19 June 2020

Educators and students from across Gippsland and Melbourne’s south-east have been recognised for their dedication with Diocese of Sale Catholic Education awards.

Spirit of Catholic Education Awards

Inspiring Learning

The Spirit of Catholic Education Award for Inspiring Learning is awarded for a significant contribution to student learning.

Award recipients

Mr Julian Blackford, Immaculate Heart of Mary Primary School - Newborough

Mr Peter Collingwood, St Francis Xavier College - Berwick

Inspiring Faith

The Spirit of Catholic Education Award for Inspiring Faith is awarded for a significant contribution to the development of students’ faith lives.

Award recipients

Mr Michael Hall, Marist Sion College - Warragul

Service Awards

Service Awards are presented to staff members who have provided at least 25 years of service to Catholic Education in Australia.

Award recipients

Dr Angela Kelly - St Michael’s Primary School, Berwick

Mr Dean Hendrikse - Marist-Sion College, Warragul

Ms Debra Robson - Marist-Sion College, Warragul

Mrs Helen Davine - Marist-Sion College, Warragul

Mrs Judith Clarisse - St Michael’s Primary School, Berwick

Ms Judy Whiteside - Marist-Sion College, Warragul

Daniel Ahern Bursary

The Daniel Ahern Bursary provides financial support for non-teaching staff training to become qualified educators

Award recipients

Brianna Scrivener - St Agatha’s Primary School, Cranbourne

Miranda Ryan - Trinity Primary School, Narre Warren South

Catholic Bishop of Sale Religious Education Awards

This award recognises the efforts of students who achieved study scores of 40+ in their VCE religious studies in the previous year.

2020 Award recipients

Rachel Willig - Marist-Sion College, Warragul

Roni Corby - Nagle College, Bairnsdale

The annual awards would usually be presented during Catholic Education Week in May, but due to COVID-19 restrictions, recipients of this year’s Catholic Education Awards will be recognised at a special Eucharist at St Joseph’s Church, Warragul, in Term 4.